Nigeria Jones

de Ibi Zoboi

citită de Marcella Cox

Asculți nelimitat

9h 50m

Adăugă la wishlist

Alegi prima carte gratuit, de la € 6,99 / lună cu 2 credite, anulezi oricând.

Ascultă sau citește în app

Dacă ți-a plăcut încearcă și

Se încarcă...

Despre Nigeria Jones carte

???An unwavering proclamation of Black girlhood.??? ???Candice Iloh, author of National Book Award finalistEvery Body Looking

From Ibi Zoboi, bestselling, award-winning author of American Street and co-author of Punching the Air, comes a bold new YA coming-of-age story, which explores race, feminism, and complicated family dynamics. The ideal next read for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jacqueline Woodson, and Roxane Gay.

Warrior Princess. That???s what Nigeria Jones???s father calls her. He has raised her as part of the Movement, a Black separatist group based in Philadelphia. Nigeria is homeschooled and vegan and participates in traditional rituals to connect her and other kids from the group to their ancestors. But when her mother???the perfect matriarch of their Movement???disappears, Nigeria???s world is upended. She finds herself taking care of her baby brother and stepping into a role she doesn???t want.

Nigeria???s mother had secrets. She wished for a different life for her children, which includes sending her daughter to a private Quaker school outside of their strict group. Despite her father???s disapproval, Nigeria attends the school with her cousin, Kamau, and Sage, who used to be a friend. ??There, she begins to flourish and expand her universe.

As Nigeria searches for her mother, she starts to uncover a shocking truth. One that will lead her to question everything she thought she knew about her life and her family.

From award-winning author Ibi Zoboi comes a powerful story about discovering who you are in the world???and fighting for that person???by having the courage to be your own revolution.

În acest moment nu există recenzii pentru această carte

Ibi Zoboi

Ibi Zoboi

Marcella Cox

Marcella Cox

Încerci gratuit

în primele 7 zile. Întrerupi oricând.

Acces nelimitat

La mii de audiobooks & eBooks din catalogul Unlimited.

Asculți offline

Poți accesa cărțile și fără conexiune la internet.

Ajustezi viteza

Ascultă audiobooks în ritmul tău.

Naratori celebri

Testezi și alegi vocile care îți plac.

Ai cărțile cu tine

Direct de pe mobil, oriunde ești.